Behind the Brewpub ScenesIf a brewpub was in a Bollywood movie, he'd be the chocolate boy hero for sure!

Running a brewpub isn’t easy- it’s a lot of work, a lot of sweat and the occasional tears.

There are a lot of good, earnest people working behind the scenes, who put in a great deal of effort, round-the-clock, to ensure that everything you love about Toit stays that way.
And these people are none other than our never-tiring, ever-inspiring staff.
Our very own Toit Army- a battalion dedicated to the cause of good beer!

He’s cute as a button, young as young can be (but older than he looks) and has a love story that could well be the plot of a romantic Bollywood movie—say hello to Rajal.

When did you join Toit?

I joined in 2011, in April. It’s been about four and a half years.

What were you doing before that?

Before, I was working in a garment showroom.

How did you hear about Toit?

One of my friends told me.

How did the shift from a garment showroom to a pub happen?

Actually, I wanted to see how it is to work here and what kind of a place it is.

I wanted to see how it is to work here…

Are you from Bangalore?

No, ma’am. I am from Tripura. I moved here in 2008 to work.

Do you live her alone or with your family?

I live alone, my family lives in Tripura. That is, my mother, brother and sister.
My brother is 16 years old, and my sister is younger. I am the oldest.

Do they think your working at a brewpub is a cool thing?

Yes! They like it, I also like it. That’s why I have been working here for almost five years.

Why did you decide to move from Tripura to Bangalore?

To make money. And because there are many more jobs here.
Everyone was saying that Bangalore is a nice place, and things like that. Also, I have a lot of friends here.

How did you spend your time in Tripura?

I used to play a lot of football. I really liked football.

Do you follow any team?

There is no time, to watch or follow football. I used to support the local team in Tripura. When I played, I used to play as a mid-fielder.

When I played, I used to play as a mid-fielder.

Can you describe a day in the life of your job?

I recently got promoted. I am a steward now. When I joined, I was in Housekeeping actually. Then I got promoted to Assistant Steward, and recently, about one month back, I got promoted to being a Steward.

I wake up at 11 am, because I have the second shift. Then I prepare some food and have it. I come here by cycle, I live in new Bypanahalli near the Metro Station.

So, I come here by 2:30 pm. They start with a briefing, and then the tables are allocated. And that’s how I start my work. We get a tea break at 4, and then a dinner break from 5:30-6:30. On weekends, I go home at 1 am. Weekdays, after 11:30 pm.

Do you interact a lot with the guests?

Actually, I am a little shy. Very shy. So I don’t like talking too much.
Now, I’ve improved. Earlier I used to work in the kitchen. I got promoted last month, so only now I have started talking to the guests.

I basically just like talking to them about the food and drinks. I don’t like to talk more than what is required.
A lot of guests don’t believe that I’m 26. They think I’m lying because of the working policy. But it’s not like that!


You do look incredibly young! How about your off day?

Again, I wake up at the same time, at 11:00 am. I wash all my clothes, prepare food and if there is a nice movie in the theatre, I go watch it. I call my home, talk to my family and that’s all.
I don’t go out a lot. I used to go before but now I am not interested.
I have to save some money, so I stay at home!
Plus, I get only one day to do all my housework, washing and cleaning and all, so I stay home.

I have to save some money, so I stay at home!

Who is your favourite actor?

Shahrukh Khan! And my favourite movie is Fan! And I also like Koila, his old movie. Even ‘My Name Is Khan’ is good.

You’re 26 now, and you moved here when you were 18. How has the move from home to here been? 

I miss the food! I miss the fish curry my mother makes. I miss the football also. And my family! The hills there are very beautiful.
But Tripura is very silent, and no one is outside at night. So I don’t miss that. There nothing happens at all.

About Bangalore, I like working here. Everything here is nice. Opportunities are greater.
Only at nights, there is always a problem of safety, where people get attacked by these boys who are drunk and roaming around.

Nothing has happened with me yet, but I know it has happened to many people. So at night, when we go home, we are always a little scared. We don’t get our wallets or big phones to work anymore! Only what we need.

So, I’m a little scared and thinking of shifting closer to work if I get a room. But everything else is good. I’ve been living here for 8 years and it’s been good.

About Bangalore, I like working here. Everything here is nice. Opportunities are greater.

Have you tried the beers at Toit?

I have sipped them. I don’t drink. I used to drink but I stopped. Earlier, when I had some tensions, I used to drink.

What tension? Love-life tensions? Do you have a girlfriend?

I am married! My wife stays in my village in Tripura, with my baby.

You didn’t mention this earlier! 

Yes. I’m a little embarrassed that I’m so young and married, so I don’t talk about it much. I wanted to get married a little later.
But I’ve been married 35 months now, my wife’s name is Rinky. She’s actually of a different religion, so that was what the tension was about.
I used to be different back then, and I’ve changed a lot now.

What was the tension about? And how did you solve it?

Tension from all sides, since it was a inter-religious relationship. And there won’t be any solution. I just got her here and we got married. Registered marriage. And we went back to our village.
She was my girlfriend from 7th standard, and also my first girlfriend.

Wow! So, high-school sweetheart and everything?

Yes. *laughs shyly*
Then I came here to work. I thought I’d relax, just roam around for 2-3 months and go back.
I had my friends here and everything. And it used to be a party.

But then after I got married, I decided I need to make something of myself. That’s when I decided to work at Toit, and life improved a lot. And things at home improved too. I was earning barely anything before here.
Now, I support my family also. I’ve also helped my brother setup a stationery shop, and he handles that.

Does your family miss you a lot?

Yes. But I go there every 6 months. Earlier, I never used to go so much, but now I’ve started. But now she’s there, so I go more often. She is a housewife, but she takes tuitions in all subjects for school children.

Your story is like some Bollywood movie!
How has the work experience been working at Toit, apart from all this?

It’s really good. The management here supports us a lot, and they gave me a promotion as well. And I’ve also been trying to improve my English, they have taken English classes here also.
This place has become like my family. I have been working for almost five years now, and there is a sense of brotherly love between everyone.
Whenever I have a holiday, I get bored because I want to come here and work.