Behind the brewpub scenesHe loves being Assitant Steward and Opening Batsman.

Running a brewpub isn’t easy- it’s a lot of work, a lot of sweat and the occasional tears.

There are a lot of good, earnest people working behind the scenes, who put in a great deal of effort, round-the-clock, to ensure that everything you love about Toit stays that way.
And these people are none other than our never-tiring, ever-inspiring staff.
Our very own Toit Army- a battalion dedicated to the cause of good beer!

He’s just as comfortable handling his role as Assistant Steward, as he is owning it as Opening Batsman back home in his cricket team in Assam. Say hello to Gias.

How long have you been working with Toit?

About five years running. I joined in 2011.


What were you doing before this?

Before this, I was staying in my village. I came here directly.


Where are you from?

I am from Assam, from a village called Singharia. I used to study in school there.


How did you end up coming to Bangalore?

I came here with my friends and relatives, to find work. I live nearby now, in Dopanahalli.


How did you hear about Toit?

I had a friend who used to work here in Bangalore, and he was the one who told me about the job opening at Toit.


So what is your designation here? And what work does that involve?

I am an Assistant Steward. We have different shifts here, and I come for the break shift, which is at 11:30 am. I come in, work till 3:30 pm, then take a break and come back at 6:00 pm, after which I work till closing time.

I am in charge of the kitchen and the floor. I work with my seniors. I attend to the guests, if they have any orders or requests. Any other work like clearing the table, drinks pick up, food pick up, I do all that too.  I do clearing and also take orders.


Is your work hectic?

It’s very hard. Sometimes when I have my duty in the kitchen, I have to do a lot of up-down, going from the second floor to the first floor a lot. It is very tiring.
When I am on the floor, I do the clearing work and if any guest calls me, I go see what they want.

In the kitchen, I pick up the food, pack the food, and keep everything for that ready.


Do you work by yourself or do you have a team?

No no, I work in a team. We have about 9 people in our team.


When is your off day, and what do you do during that day?

My off day is Tuesday, and I do all my personal work—washing, laundry, making food and stuff at home, I do all that.

I stay with my brothers and friends here. Sometimes, when I feel like it, I go out, otherwise I just rest at home.


Do you have any hobbies?

I like cricket a lot. I play whenever I can.


Do you follow the IPL? Do you have a favourite team?

Yes! KKR (Kolkata Knight Riders) are my favourite team. And my favourite cricket players are Yusuf Pathan, Gautam Gambhir and Andre Russell. Yusuf Pathan is my most favourite, and even if he is not in the Indian Cricket Team, when he plays in the IPL, he does well.


Did you play cricket when you were in Assam?

Yes! We used to play a lot of cricket there. We used to have teams and tournaments, between different villages.
We used to play after school everyday. There used to be a lot of playing then.


What position did you play in?

Opening batsman, but I’m an all-rounder. But I like batting more.


Do you miss Assam a lot?

Yes, I miss it. And I feel like going there but I can’t go too often. I go there once in two years. We get holidays every year but sometimes I can’t go, because I can’t go for one month and come back. My mother and father start crying and don’t let me come back. They are happy that I am working here, but they miss me a lot.


Do you have any siblings?

I have five brothers and one sister—I am the oldest, the second is Sal-e-Ahmed, Shamimmudin, Jihaduddin, Bayanuddin and my sister is Haseena Parveen. They are all studying in school there.


Do you want them to come here as well, or do you want to go back there?

I think it is better there, because that is my birthplace, so I can never leave it. My home and relatives are all there.


Do you like Bangalore?

Yes, I do. I have also been to Nagaland and Kohima, and after that I came to Bangalore.


Do you like working here at Toit? Is there something you dislike?

I like working here. There is nothing I don’t like, because whatever work I am given, I do it. I don’t feel bad to do any work here. There is some pressure, but nothing too bad.

I like meeting customers. Earlier when I was new, I was not interacting with them much, but now they know me better and put me on duty on the floor more.


What is your favourite food at Toit?

I like the starters—the chicken items and beef items. There’s the Chicken Pepper, the Beefy Loaded Potatoes, the Beef Skewers, and also the Toit Sunavachik. Oh, also the Lemon Chicken and Chicken Picatta.


It’s been five years now. Do you want to continue working here for a long time?

I want to work here because I need to support my family. It’s hard right now. But I would like to continue working here because it is good here and there are no problems. They have a good policy here, and they help us a lot here. That’s why we don’t mind doing any work for them.

Do you have a wife?


Do you have a girlfriend?

No. *blushes and gives an embarrassed laugh as he walks away.*